City of McGregor, Texas

City Government

James S. “Jimmy” Hering

Mayor  |  Term Expires 2020

(254) 840-3854

Tony Ocampo

At Large  |  Term Expires 2021

(254) 840-3331

Andrew Henderson Sr.

Mayor Protem  |  Ward One  |  Term Expires 2021

(254) 840-3370

Paul Allison

Council Member  |  Ward Two  |  Term Expires 2020

(254) 840-3370

David Taylor

Council Member  |  Ward Three  |  Term Expires 2021

(254) 840-2180

Jeff Douglas

Council Member  |  Ward Four  |  Term Expires 2020

(812) 621-0909

The City of McGregor is a home rule city operating under a council/manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of the Mayor and five Council members. The Mayor and one council member are elected at-large, and the remaining council members are elected by ward, with all serving two-year terms. The Mayor Pro-Tem is selected by the City Council from among the council members. The City Council is responsible for adopting the annual budget, appointing committees, hiring the City Attorney, City Manager, City Secretary and Municipal Court Judge, as well as enacting ordinances and establishing the tax rate.

Correspondence to the Mayor and/or the City Council may be sent to:

City Hall

Attn: Angelia Sloan, City Secretary

Mailing: P.O. Box 192; McGregor, TX 76657

Physical: 302 S. Madison; McGregor, TX 76657

Council Meetings are open to the public.

City Council Meetings are normally held on the second Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. at the City Hall in the Council Chambers, 302 S. Madison St. (North Entrance). Meetings are open to the public, and an agenda is posted on outside bulletin board at City Hall (North Entrance) and on this website on the preceding Friday (or you may click HERE to see the City Council agendas).

Addressing the Council:

Those interested in addressing the Council may do so at any Council meeting by signing in prior to the opening of the meeting. The sign-in log is located on the right side of the Council Dais.  In order to afford everyone an equal opportunity to address the Council, speakers are asked to limit their presentations to three minutes during the public comment section as posted on the agenda and/or on any agenda item.   Council is unable to take action, but will listen, may respond with comments and/or questions at their discretion, ask staff to look into concerns and provide follow-up.

If you plan to present Council with information, have the materials  ready to present to the City Secretary who will distribute to the Council.  Any information you would like to provide to the Council prior to the meeting may be emailed to the City Secretary at no later than Tuesday prior to the following Monday’s meeting.

To be placed on the agenda to more formally address the Council, notification should be made no later than the Tuesday prior to the following Monday’s meeting. A written request is required, stating the reason for the appointment and topic to be addressed and this will be placed on the agenda at the discretion of the City Manager and Mayor.


O-7-20 May Election Moved to November

General City Elections are held in May of each year. For more information on how to run for office, please contact the City Secretary’s office at (254) 840-2806 or visit

Notice of Drawing for Place on Ballot

Filing Period 2020

Voting Ward Map

Notice of Election-May 2, 2020

Early Voting Locations

Election Day Vote Centers